## Minutes of the Executive Committee (EC) Meeting of the Indian Association of Endocrine Surgeons (IAES)- A section of the Association of Surgeons of India (ASI) -held online on Zoom platform 6 pm on Friday 25<sup>th</sup> October 2024

This first meeting of newly elected EC members was conducted in response to an intimation circulated by the President IAES on WhatsApp on October 7, 2024. The agendas were invited and circulated to all members by honorary secretary IAES.

Out of 19 members of the current EC, following members attended the meeting:

- 1. Dr Anjali Mishra (President IAES)
- 2. Dr Pooja Ramakant (Hon. Secretary IAES )
- 3. Dr Gaurav Agarwal (President-elect)
- 4. Dr Sabaretnam M (Vice President)
- 5. Dr Ritesh Agarwal (Vice President)
- 6. Dr Nikhil Singh (Treasurer)
- 7. Dr Chitresh Kumar (Joint Secretary)
- 8. Dr Suganaya Sekar (Joint Secretary)
- 9. Dr Sidarth Chakervorty (EC Member)
- 10. Dr Gitika Nanda (EC Member)
- 11. Dr Chandan Jha (EC Member)
- 12. Dr Vishvak Chanthar (EC Member)
- 13. Dr Sushobhan Pradhan (EC Member)
- 14. Dr Sanjay Kumar Yadav (Editor in-chief of Indian Journal of Endocrine Surgery & Research)
- 15. Dr Sunil MB Barua (Editorial Board Member)

Welcome address by IAES President Dr Anjali Mishra -

IAES Honorary Secretary Dr Pooja Ramakant started with Agendas which were planned prior to the notification of the meeting. Last GB meetings minutes were circulated.

**Agenda 1:** Constitution & by-laws and amendment in regulations of IAES and Oration and Award, as discussed in last GB held on -----2024, two committees were formed.

Dr Chitresh - Suggested to change name of Presidential Oration.

Dr Saba - suggested to get sample copies of the constitution made by other societies like Colo-Rectal. It was decided that the committees would be empowered to look into all the suggestions and will come out with final proposal as the matter has already been deliberated in length by previous office bearers and in two consecutives GBs held with annual conferences in Guwahati (2023) and Lucknow (2024)

The Committee Proposed for amendment/ formation of Constitution & by- laws is:

- 1. Chairperson- Dr BN Mohanty (Senior member & Past President IAES)
- 2. Secretary by-laws committee Dr Nikhil Singh (Treasure IAES)
- 3. Dr MJ Paul (Senior member & Past President IAES)
- 4. President IAES Dr Anjali Mishra (Ex-officio member)
- 5. Hon. Secretary IAES Dr Pooja Ramakant (Ex-officio member)
- 6. Dr Gaurav Agarwal (President-elect)
- 7. Dr Ritesh Agrawal (vice President)

- 8. Dr Sanjay Yadav (Chief -Editor)
- 9. Dr Siddhartha Chakravarty (EC member)

Committee chosen to work on amendment in Oration and awards include:

- 1. Chairperson- Dr Ritesh Agrawal
- 2. Secretary award committee- Dr Gitika Nanda
- 3. President IAES Dr Anjali Mishra (Ex-officio member)
- 4. Hon. Secretary IAES Dr Pooja Ramakant (Ex-officio member)Dr Suganya

The committee needs to work and submit the report in next EC Meeting

## Agenda 2: ASI issues

This time, many Past Presidents declined to come to give the Oration due to personal reasons.

Dr Gaurav Agarwal Sir raised the issue of – the option of single-day registration in ASI.

Issue on reduced 2 hour time slot was also a concern for many members. It was decided that a letter needs to be sent to president and scientific committee chairperson of ASI to highlight the issue and to request the necessary amendment.

Agenda 3: Dr Dayanand Babu wishes to give Oration as recommended by Dr Paul.

President advised to submit the application next year as per rule when the dates for applying various awards including oration are declared.

**Agenda 4**: Active members need to pay annually or not. Dr Ritesh and many others suggested to stop taking hard copies of the Journal and reduce its cost. That way members need not to pay every year. Those who want hard copies may pay and have it. But at the same time we need to look for avenues to increase society income.

Agenda 5: Dr S K Mishra Sir oration seed money.

Amount fixed- 10 Lakhs for 20 years.

This will be uniformly followed for all future Orations. Whether to include inflation amount to it or not for future will be decided by the award committee.

Dr Ritesh expressed that he could raise 5 lakhs but express inability to raise 10 lakhs amount.

Dr Anjali Mishra volunteered to pay 5 lakhs and the remaining 5 Lakhs will be raised by Dr Sanjay and Dr Ritesh.

**Agenda 6**: As Dr Pradeep didn't join, hence the issue raised by him to continue in ASI or not was not discussed and passed on to next EC Meeting.

**Agenda 7**: To raise IAES Registration money. It was agreed by all members and even it was suggested that Gala dinner should be paid.

Dr Suganya raised issue of formation of guidelines for management of surgical endocrine cases. Since The agenda was not sent and listed earlier and there was paucity of time it couldn't be discussed as table agenda and differed for a later date.

The meeting ended by 7.11 pm on a happy note and festive wishes.

Pooja Ramakant (Hon. Secretary IAES)

Angali

Anjali Mishra (President IAES)